Occupational Therapy

Nursing & Allied Health Professionals

Allied Health Disciplines - Occupational Therapy

Occupational therapists are university-trained, regulated health professionals whose focus is on assisting people to engage in daily life activities that they find meaningful and purposeful. An Occupational Therapist’s unique training enables them to understand not only the medical and physical limitations of a disability or injury, but also the psycho-social factors that impact on an individual's ability to function independently. Their approach is based on research which proves that an individual's ability to engage in occupation increases their health and well being. Occupations can include self-care (i.e. personal care, mobility), leisure (i.e. social activities, sports) and productivity (play, school, employment, homemaking).

Occupational therapists are specialists in the analysis, adaptation and therapeutic use of occupations, to achieve goals jointly determined by the therapist and the client, in the context of their own home and community. When you see an occupational therapist, he or she will assess and evaluate your ‘occupational performance’. This means your ability to choose, organize, and effectively and safely perform everyday activities.

The treatment/intervention plan may include:


In addition to direct care to individuals of all ages, occupational therapists may also work with groups and communities assuming the role of researcher, educator, manager, consultant, advocate and/or program planner.

Occupational therapists are committed to health promotion, community integration and research activities that enhance the delivery of health care. Occupational therapists may provide services where clients live, play or work. In B.C. they can work in the public and/or private sectors. People may also receive occupational therapy in settings that include hospitals, schools, residential care facilities, community care, child development centres, mental health facilities, clinics, employment and training centres, and private clinics or offices.

Contact VCH Occupational Therapy Practice Leadership Team

VCH OT Practice Leader:
VCH OT Practice Coordinators:
Vancouver Community Richelle Emery
Richelle.Emery@vch.ca
604-708-5288
GF Strong/MS Clinic Sarah Sinanan
Sarah.Sinanan@vch.ca
604-737-6288
Coastal Nonie Medcalf
Nonie.Medcalf@vch.ca
604-984-5748
Richmond Mim Wickett
Miriam.Wickett@vch.ca
604-970-1671
Vancouver Mental Health Tracy Adams
Tracy.Adams@vch.ca
604-362-0567
Van Residential/UBC Acute/STAT Centre Desiree Betz
Desiree.Betz@vch.ca
778-870-9287
VGH Acute/Ambulatory Deirdre Lee
Deirdre.Lee@vch.ca
778-870-7625
VCH OT Practice Coordinator/Clinical Resource:
Mary Pack Arthritis Program Lori Cyr
Lori.Cyr@vch.ca
604-875-4111 ext 68814
VCH OT Clinical Resource Therapists:
Medical/Surgical Populations Teresa Green
Teresa.Green@vch.ca
778-870-7628
Seniors Health/Residential
Care Populations
Judi Dueck
Judi.Dueck@vch.ca
604-317-8202
Neurology & Spine
Populations
Melissa Austin
Melissa.Austin@vch.ca
604-862-1689
Mental Health and Substance Use 604-862-1692
VCH OT Educator:

Search Available Positions

More Resources

Read More

Back to Top